Romantic Idealization: Not Just for Naive Ingenues Anymore

So my brain was randomly pondering whatever happened to wander across its convolusions, and as it invariably does, the subject of why in the world am I so unlucky in love made its very-recognizable presence known. Right there in the midst of transferring last night’s veggie medley into a smaller storage container, a realization dawned upon me: I’m unlucky because I’m a human idealist.

An idealist sees the best there is to see in both situation and person. When it comes to starting a relationship of ANY kind, I’m drawn to a person–be they a potential friend or boyfriend–by some positive, uplifting, happy quality they exhibit on a regular basis. From that point onward I focus upon finding more qualities that keep my proverbial happy-boat afloat long enough to sail the relationship someplace mutually satisfying. Only if there is gross betrayal do I start to see the bad. Only if they hurt me horribly does the idealizing slow to stillness. Where boys I’ve fallen for are concerned, I very much see what I want to see because I’ve seen something in them that’s wonderful…and why shouldn’t that be focused upon?

I’m not saying to stumble stupidly around overlooking serious flaws…been there, done that, burned the itinerary. But if God can look at us and see only the best of what we are and what we could still be, why shouldn’t we attempt to see others through similarly rose-colored eyewear? Yep, such a choice is going to get me hurt…again and again. But it just might help me care about someone–if only for a brief time–that desperately needs caring about.

If God sees fit to look at me so “blindly,” the least I can do is return the favor on His earthly behalf.

Leave a comment